The Social Benefits Tribunal became part of the new social justice tribunals cluster on January 25, 2011. The cluster, named Social Justice Tribunals Ontario (SJTO), includes the Social Benefits Tribunal, Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario, Landlord and Tenant Board, Child and Family Services Review Board, Custody Review Board, Special Education (English) Tribunal of Ontario and Special Education (French) Tribunal of Ontario. The mandate of these tribunals is to provide all Ontarians with access to fair and effective dispute resolution in a wide range of matters that profoundly affect their everyday live.

The SJTO is led by Executive Chair Michael Gottheil. The former Chairs of the seven adjudicative tribunals were re-designated as Associate Chairs. You may find more information about the Executive Chair, the SJTO, its structure and links to the other tribunals’ websites at www.sjto.gov.on.ca.  The Social Benefits Tribunal holds hearings which are similar to a court, but less formal. The Tribunal has an Associate Chair, Vice-Chairs and Members, who are appointed by Order-in-Council to hear appeals from individuals concerning social assistance. It is supported by the SJTO legal counsel, administrative staff and client service staff.